The Baptist Student Fellowship in Nigeria has hit its Diamond Anniversary; this was announced by the National Executive of the University of Ibadan Baptist Student Fellowship Alumni Association led by the President, Pharm. Dapo Ipadeola in Ibadan recently.

The Baptist Student Fellowship, which was formerly called the Baptist Students Union, is an umbrella body of all students, especially those in the tertiary institutions of the Baptist faith, started in the University of Ibadan in 1958 by American Missionaries including Mary Frank KirkPatrick. The first Baptist campus-based fellowship created an avenue to meet the Spiritual needs of the students who have similar background in the faith as well as hone character skills for excellent living.
UI 2

According to the National President of the UIBSFAA, Pharm. Dapo Ipadeola, “It is 60 years since the Baptist Students Union which is now called Baptist Student Fellowship was formed at the University of Ibadan, the Premier University, the sweats and investments of God’s messengers who acknowledged it was needful to have a campus-based student’s ministry has grown tremendously across the nation.

According to him, “We appreciate God for nurturing the fellowship and also having brought forth many more fellowships, both church-based and campus-based, under the body. As pioneers, we would be rolling out the drums to celebrate with the theme: ‘Celebrating God’s faithfulness- 60 years’ from May 17- May 20 2018 at the University of Ibadan.

Speakers have been invited from ecumenical, social, corporate Nigeria- these include Rev Professor Emiola Nihinlola, President of the Nigerian Baptist Theological Seminary; Mr. Deremi Atanda, Executive Director, SystemSpecs, Lagos; Evangelist Mrs Toun Soetan, among others. Some of the activities scheduled for the celebration include symposiums, worship sessions, homecoming activities, colloquium and various capacity building workshops to speak the word of faith into the ministry and enhance the lives of all the participants for effective leadership in the society.

Within this 60 years of existence, BSFUI has had several leaders and produced renowned ministers, some of these are Bro. Gbile Akanni of Peace House; Dr Isaiah Ademola; Deikola Abiola; Rev Dr. Musa Zekeri; Bolaji Ajibola; Layi Oladapo and many others. Her products dot the landscape of the country doing exploits in spheres of life too numerous to list.